## History of Toowoomba Marathon, Half Marathon and 10k Race

Sunday October 17<sup>th</sup>, 2010, was the 30<sup>th</sup> running of the Toowoomba Marathon with its associated races. We now run a half marathon, a 10k road race and, of recent years, a three quarter marathon, with the main event. It is run on a 10.55k circuit at the USQ campus. This circuit was chosen because it was as close to flat as you can get in Toowoomba. Actually, it is an undulating course with a gradual incline up West St and ups and downs in Platz St. By the time you do West St for the fourth time, you actually call it a hill. The four races give competitors a wide choice of distance and we also encourage walkers in the 10k. However, the race was not always like this.

It started in 1981 as a Marathon only and remained so until 1986 when the half marathon was added. The 10k started in 2005 and the three quarter marathon, a unique event, started only in 2007 and is slowly gaining popularity for runners who are either not quite ready for the marathon or who want a good middle distance training run.

In 1981, the running boom had started, the club was in its second year and many marathons sprang up across Australia. Ours was one of the last in the season. The inaugural event was won by world veteran runner champion, Alan Bradford, of Toowoomba, who ran a creditable 2:38:27. The early years were hotly contested, with a record of 158 starters in 1983. These days we usually have about 40 in the full marathon. Bob Wright produced two exceptional times, winning 1983 and 1984 in 2:29:22 and 2:26:40 respectively. These times have only been beaten by the current record holder, Ian Kent, who ran 2:26:03 in 1990. The female record is held by Tracey McGowan who ran 2:59:21 in 1985. Lyn Stern, a three times winner in 1987, 1988 and 1989, came very close to beating it with a 2:59:37 in 1987. We continue to offer a \$100 prize to anyone who can beat the record.

The half marathon was also hotly contested in the 1980's. The men's record is held by Glenn Benecke who ran 1:09:10 in 1986. The women's record is held by Liz Hepple (1:22:27 in 1987) for many years but was finally broken by Welsh Cross Country champion, Samantha Bretherick, in 2003, when she ran 1:22:09.

The 10k road race which has only been run since 2005, has a very strong men's record of 32:21, run by Christian Cobbald in 2006. Tressa Lindenberg holds the women's record of 39:25, run in 2007.

Over the years, the weather for this event, being late spring, has been very variable. We've had heat, cold, wind and perfect conditions. This year's race was very cold, 7 degrees centigrade with a strong westerly wind. Despite this we had record numbers with 35 in the Full Marathon, 15 in the 34 Marathon, 113 in the Half Marathon and 114 in the 10km Road Race (in total 285). Approximately 40% of the participants were female.

Entry costs are low, being \$30 for the marathon, \$20 for the half marathon and \$15 for the 10k road race. Toowoomba Rotary Club helped us with the water stops. All profits from our races go to the Toowoomba Hospital Foundation, which in 2010 was \$6,000.

Our thanks go to X-Cell Roofing for generously sponsoring this year's marathon.

## Results

Marathon	1st male	Time	1st female	Time			
1981	Alan Bradford	2:38:27	Jan Fredricks	3:26:23			
1982	Ron Peters	2:38:57	Margaret Barrett				
1983	Bob Wright	2:29:22	Sandra Best	3:35:00			
1984	Bob Wright	2:26:40	Tracey McGowan	3:09:00			
1985	Mervyn Shields	2:30:24	Tracey McGowan	2:59:21			
1986	Peter Bourgaize	2:26:56	Margaret Brandon	3:23:28			
1987	lan Kent	2:30:38	Lyn Stern	2:59:37			
1988	lan Kent	2:29:37	Lyn Stern	3:10:08			
1989	Paul Houston	2:28:37	Lyn Stern	3:03:17			
1990	Ian Kent	2:26:03	Joan Darlington	3:24:03			
1991	Ron Peters	2:29:07	Robyn Wallace	3:10:56			
1992	Brad Smith	2:43:56	Lyn Gordon	3:14:43			
1993	Graham Black	2:38:17	Inara Strungs	3:38:52			
1994	Mark Campbell	2:43:39	Inara Strungs	3:38:43			
1995	Graham Black	2:31:06	Michelle Williams	3:31:06			
1996	Graham Black	2:39:16	Natalie Jaques	3:54:22			
1997	Robert Scott	2:48:19	Kumi Kato	3:12:01			
1998	Graham Kelsey	2:35:52	Kumi Kato	3:13:44			
1999	Graham Kelsey	2:45:51	Carolyn Sola	3:10:32			
2000	Graham Kelsey	2:32:52	Lisa Barton	3:01:30			
2001							
2002	Keith Chaston	2:50:26	Theresa Fabian	3:55:04			
2003	Keith Chaston	2:53:38	Georgie Wilson	3:12:09			
2004	Dan McDonald	2:54:22	Wendy Stewart	3:35:07			
2005	Peter Hunt	2:56:56	Wendy Stewart	3:28:31			
2006	Guy Doolan	2:44:50	Siri Terjesen	3:09:39			
2007	Mike Harvey	2:58:10	Leslie Le Vaillant	3:58:43			
2008	Stan Fetting	3:08:29	Julie McCallum	3:23:42			
2009	Jason Sewell	2:48:55	Steph Dowd	4:00:23			
2010	Tom Anderson	3:02:16	Tressa Lindenberg	3:08:09			
3/4 Marathon							
2007	Craig Hudson	2:10:14	Emma Godwin	2:54:16			
2008	Craig Hudson	2:11:26	Karen Wiersma	2:58:47			
2009	Craig Hudson	2:12:03	Karen Wiersma	2:47:49			
2010	Craig Hudson	2:13:45	Sheridan Herrmann	2:44:27			

<b>Half Marathon</b>	
----------------------	--

1986	Glenn Benecke	1:09:10	Tara Dines	1:33:18
1987	Tony Gillam	1:10:05	Tara Dines	1:23:53
1988	Glenn Benecke	1:09:34	Mary Murison	1:23:01
1989	Nigel Sisson	1:10:43	Liz Hepple	1:22:27
1990	Laurie Adams	1:09:32	J Stevenson	1:26:14
1991	Nigel Sisson	1:10:56	Lyn Stern	1:19:03
1992	Glenn Benecke	1:10:58	Kerry Schreiber	1:23:27
1993	Alan Bradford	1:14:32	Alison Coleman	1:30:38
1994	Graham Black	1:11:10	Margot Henseleit	1:36:53
1995	Graham Kelsey	1:14:08	Cathy Grattan	1:31:56
1996	Dennis Fitzgerald	1:16:14	Amanda Richards-Dusaz	1:32:26
1997	Graham Kelsey	1:11:44	Tressa Lindenberg	1:28:32
1998	Tony Gillam	1:17:18	Carolyn Sola	1:29:40
1999	Dennis Kalinowski	1:17:27	Glenda Banaghan	1:31:15
2000	Norman Hanna	1:15:04	Katie Whittle	1:32:15
2001				
2002	Peter Hunt	1:20:54	Tressa Lindenberg	1:28:09
2003	Graham Kelsey	1:14:10	Samantha Bretherick	1:22:09
2004	Graham Kelsey	1:16:04	Helen Tolhurst	1:25:05
2005	Hintsa Mebrathu	1:14:53	Tressa Lindenberg	1:26:08
2006	Craig Hudson	1:24:04	Rebecca Robb	1:30:09
2007	Peter Hallanhan	1:28:42	Alexandra Ralph	1:34:02
2008	Dennis Fitzgerald	1:15:53	Susan Gullewski	1:44:01
2009	Mark Oliphant	1:22:22	Melita Simpkins	1:37:25
2010	Mark Oliphant	1:19:25	Jenni Paxton	1:32:50
10km				
2005	Daniel Smith	0:38:00	Jeremy Young	0:40:01
2006	Christian Cobbold	0:32:21	Diane Otley-Doe	0:47:44
2007	Glenn Benecke	0:35:45	Tressa Lindenberg	0:39:25
2008	Ben MacCronan	0:36:14	Janine Fitzgerald	0:43:28
2009	Ben MacCronan	0:34:47	Tressa Lindenberg	0:40:17
2010	Ben MacCronan	0:33:51	Georgie Stewart	0:43:04